Norwex Mop Review – Worth the expense if you’ve got dogs

Kate's 3 star rating

If this mop was cheaper, I'd give it 5 stars!

UPDATE: March 23, 2012

After much consideration – and months of in-home testing and scrutinizing – I am convinced that e-cloth® offers a product that is equal in quality and performance to Norwex but is more reasonably priced. I still stand behind my review of the Norwex mop, but the e-cloth® mop performs a wee bit better and is less than half the price. See my detailed comparison/review of the e-cloth® VS Norwex mops here.

ENTER MY WIN AN E-CLOTH MOP CONTEST HERE! (contest ends April 30, 2012)

In a Nutshell:

This is a 5 star product with a 3 star price tag.  It works great but costs a lot. It is easy to use, and picks up dog hair and every miniscule piece of dirt, grit and grime in its way.

How it Works in my Dusty Old House:

Lets be honest, the Norwex mop is expensive!  I mean, who in their right mind spends $90 to $120 on a cleaning gadget when you could spend that cash on, hmmm… anything fun and/or tasty instead?  Well, after weeks of internal debate, I bought one.  Looks like hubby will have to forgo an expensive bottle of scotch for a while, but before you say “whoa, no scotch?!?  What were you thinking?”, read on…

My two dogs shed.  A LOT.  I spend a lot of time sweeping and vacuuming dog hair.  Once in a while I pull out my old sponge mop to get the muddy paw prints off the floor – but only right after vacuuming and even then I end up pushing wet clumps of dog hair around.  Gross.  I hate picking those wet bits up.

I’m NOT a clean freak.  I dislike cleaning as much as the next gal.  It’s just that every time I turn around, I see a ball of dog hair blow by and it drives me crazy.

Also thanks to our dogs, my floors are constantly covered in tiny bits of grime and grit that they bring in on their paws.  Despite our best efforts, we haven’t been able to train them to wipe their paws on the doormat. Actually, it’s like they see the doormat as a bed of hot coals.  They come charging in from outside, and race across the mat and stop on the wood floor, RIGHT BESIDE THE MAT.  They likely would keep going, but they have to stop and check if coming inside is a “trick” worthy of a treat.  Um… no dogs, It’s NOT!

I have become frustrated with my old-fashioned broom. Every time I reach back to sweep, the breeze from the broom sends dog hair flying. When I finally think I’ve got it all, I bring out my trusty dustpan, but the darned thing won’t pick up all the bits of dirt.  And lets face it, who wants to bring the vacuum out more than once a week?  Nope, not me.

So I started dreaming about the Norwex mop.  Little angels and fairies flying around singing angel and fairy songs while I, dressed like Betty Draper, blissfully and effortlessly cleaned up all the hair, dirt and grime with my new Norwex mop.  Birds were whistling and I was smiling.  How could I NOT buy the mop?

Oh, but the cost.  How could I, ever-practical engineer-turned-stay-at-home-mom, justify the expense when we are down to a single income?

I hummed and hawed for weeks before I finally ordered it. It arrived a couple of weeks ago and I’ve got to admit, the darned thing works great!  OK, there aren’t fairies and angels singing and my cleaning wardrobe hasn’t changed from comfy pajama pants, fleece sweater and crocs to an elegant dress, pearl choker and fancy flat shoes, BUT I’m cleaning our floors quickly, WITHOUT THE VACUUM. Actually, I haven’t pulled the vacuum out once in three weeks.

I bought the Superior Mop Package, which comes with a plush microfiber dry mop pad and an Antibac wet mop pad.  The dry pad picks up every piece of hair and miniscule piece of dirt that it comes in contact with.  I use it a few times during the day to pick up hair and bits of food that Zander throws on the floor.

Zander likes to use it as he scoots around on his bum.  He seems to be obsessed with sticking it under the couches, which is good by me – one less area to clean.  I use the wet pad once every two days or so, immediately after using the dry pad.  I am still amazed to NOT find any hair on the wet pad after I’ve used it.  Sure, there is the odd hair that the dry pad has missed, but for the most part, the wet pad stays hair-free.

For those of you into pros and cons, here you go:

PROS:

  • no cleaners are needed, which means we aren’t crawling/rolling around in chemicals and our wood and cork floors will stay in tip-top shape
  • the dry pad picks up dog hair (well, probably every kind of hair but right now I only care about the dog hair), dust bunnies and the teensiet-tiniest dirt you can imagine.  Actually, it picks up a LOT of hair and dirt before you need to shake it off
  • you keep the mop head on the floor at all times so there is no “breeze” that will blow hair/dust/dirt away before you get to it
  • the dry pad picks up really small pieces of dirt and wipes grime off the floor.  I now crawl on our floor with Zander without feeling any grit, which is amazing to me
  • the dry mop is better at picking up small grit than our vacuum
  • both the dry and wet pads extend out past the ends and sides of the mop base so the pads fold up against baseboards/furniture/backs of stairs
  • the wet pad only has to be slightly dampened so the floors dry very quickly afterward and you don’t have to worry about destroying your wood floors
  • both mop pads clean off easily and can be used several times before washing them
  • you can throw them in your washing machine!  This is definitely a bonus over my traditional mop that sits wet for hours/days after using it.  God only knows what’s growing in there.  Not to mention that sometimes I use the old mop and my floors seem to come out dirtier than they were in the first place.
  • it’s lightweight, adjustable and very easy to use
  • the handle is long enough that you can use the dry pad to get those pesky cobwebs along the ceiling

CONS:

  • whoo-ee, it’s expensive.  But it comes with an excellent warranty and it will last for years.  I change the spongy thing on my old mop 4 times a year.  Those are $7 each plus 3 bottles of cleaner at $7 each plus at least one 10 pack of vacuum bags (I told you, we have a LOT of dog hair to deal with) at $13.  That’s $60/year. Wow, I didn’t realize I was spending that much. Hmmm.  So over the lifetime of the Norwex mop, the price isn’t looking that bad.  If you’re a Swiffer user, you can add a few bucks onto that total.
  • the mop pads are easy to clean, but not quite as easy as dumping a dustpan into the garbage.  You can brush the dirt off into the garbage, but our kitchen garbage is kind of small and I usually end up with a lot of dust around rather than in the pail.  I usually clean mine outside, which is a bit of a pain (especially if there is a breeze – make sure you’re up wind of the mop!).  Norwex also sells a rubber brush which supposedly works great to brush the dirt off.  I happen to have a very similar rubber brush that we use for brushing our dogs, made by Kong.  It works well.  I’ve also used a normal dog brush which does an equally good job.
  • the dry mop isn’t great at picking up things like Cheerios or apple seeds and stems.  Our dogs get an apple every night after dinner as a treat (maybe they’d get 2 if they would learn to wipe their feet) and despite being Labs that are known to eat EVERYTHING, they do NOT eat apple stems.  They do eat seeds, but sometimes they miss one or two; hence apple seeds on our floor.  If I move the mop in a figure-eight motion like Norwex suggests, I can keep these things in front of the mop, but they don’t come up with the mop when I lift it to clean it off.

Am I glad I bought the mop?  Yes.  Would I recommend it for you? Definitely, unless your home is carpeted.  I’m not sure carpet and microfiber are a winning combination.

Have something you need to get off your chest about the mop.  Be it good, bad or ugly, I’d love to hear your comments.

This entry was posted in 3 Star Reviews, 5 Star Reviews, e-cloth, Norwex Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Norwex Mop Review – Worth the expense if you’ve got dogs

  1. Suzanne says:

    I really like how the Norwex mop cleans, but have had recurrent problems with the telescoping handle coming loose (like extending when I don’t want it to). I’ve had it replaced once, but it’s no longer under warrantee, and now it doesn’t tighten at all. I took it completely apart to see if there was some mechanism I could fix, but I can’t see anything I can do anything about. Since this costed a small fortune, what can I do? Do you know if I can buy a handle from another provider (Swiffer? ecloth?) that fits in the base? or do the pads fit on another less expensive mop base?

    • Suzanne – it might be worth contacting Norwex again to see what’s what. Especially since you’ve already had it replaced once, maybe they’ll be willing to do it again (unless it’s 5 years old or something). If not, the Norwex pads will fit on the e-cloth mop. I have both mops and use the pads/handles interchangeably. You won’t be able to get just the handle though. The Norwex pads won’t fit on the Swiffer but you can put ecloth or norwex cloths onto a Swiffer. But a word of warning – you’ll find the Swiffer handle very flimsy after using your Norwex (or ecloth mop). If you do a search on my blog for “Swiffer”, you’ll see I wrote a post discussing using e-cloths on my Swiffer. Some worked better than others. Oh, here’s the link to that…

  2. Rebekah says:

    I recently discovered Norwex and love the body cloths. They have already cleared up my skin significantly, and I can’t remember to use them morning and evening like I should.

  3. I really like the Norwex blue wet mop and the yellow dry pad. I wash my ivory ceramic tile floor with ivory grout every day and sometimes twice a day as I have lots of little Pomeranians running around on my floor. Since I used the Grout Shield on my grout, the whole floor comes up spotless with the Norwex wet mop. The biggest problem I have is keeping my helpers from tossing the mop pads in the wash with soap which ruins the mops antibacterial effect. The Norwex mop system really works for me because I don’t need to use chemicals on my floor or on my mop but I can feel sure the floor is clean – I caulked all around the floor and the Grout Shield makes it all impervious to dirt and germs. (The Grout Shield is so easy to apply I employed a teenage gal to apply it per video instructions. I had many flooring companies tell me I would have to get someone to take the grout out or that there weren’t any products for light colored grout that would stay light or be impervious to bacteria etc., so I went on the internet and found Grout Shield.) It works and so does the Norwex mop system.

    • Diane – glad to hear the mop is working for you. I’m confused about your comment regarding washing though:”The biggest problem I have is keeping my helpers from tossing the mop pads in the wash with soap which ruins the mops antibacterial effect.

      The mop pad should be laundered with detergent. Any detergent will do as long as it doesn’t have fabric softener or bleach in it. The less the better so that it can all be rinsed away. Did you get some other information from your consultant?

  4. Kirsten says:

    I bought the system, and the mop does fine for quick spills, but doesn’t compare to a “real” mop job. I’ve been eyeing people’s floors (creepy, I know), and the ones that really shine all seem to come from Swiffer users. I also have heard great Norwex reviews from people with pets about the dry mop, and I don’t have pets, I have small children. It does a terrible job of “sweeping” – it seems like it’s only meant for dust & hair, while I need something for dirt and food. It hangs in my closet, and I use my broom and am looking at the Swiffer after all. Am I doing something wrong?

    • Hi Kristen – sorry to hear you’re not happy with your Norwex Mop. Are you finding that it’s actually leaving your floor dirty or is it more a case that the floor isn’t shiny? One thing you’ve got to remember is that a lot of traditional floor cleaners leave a bit of residue/polish behind to give your floors that shine. A good microfiber mop like the Norwex or ecloth one , that you use with just water obviously doesn’t do that, which is actually a perk because: (a) dust and dirt stick to the residue/polish and (b) they typically contain chemicals that are absorbed by bare feet, crawling hands, pet feet, etc.

      Personally, when I use my e-cloth or Norwex wet mop, i find my floors very clean afterwards. Occasionally there is some streaking (because the pad was too wet) but there is absolutely no dirt or dust left on them. The only places I find that it fails are in corners and in the grout between tiles.

      You do have a point about the dry mop though. It is great for pet hair and dust but not great for anything that has no static charge (like cereal bits, sand). I gave my mom one of the e-cloth mops for Christmas but purposely didn’t give her the dry pad because it won’t pick up the kind of dirt she gets in her house. BUT… If you move the mop in a figure-eight with one side always leading, you should find that it’s very good at “corralling” dirt/cereal/etc. and is much faster than a traditional broom. Then you’ve got one small pile of dirt that you can put into a dustpan and throw out.

  5. CM says:

    I am so glad that I found your blog. I have a Norwex mop that I’ve never been thrilled with. I had a roommate at one time that had an Enjo mop which I loved and could not afford so came across Norwex and thought I’d give it a try. From reading your blog I realized that maybe I am using it too wet which is why it leaves streaks on my kitchen floor. I find it never seems that clean either. I usually vacuum first (have not tried the other cloth – got the basic polyester one) and find the crumbs, dog hair is gone, but there just seem to be spots that I need to wipe up by hand. I also don’t like that the pad gets stained, but perhaps I should try boiling it like you do your other cloths.

    My biggest pet peeve is that now that I am actually cleaning more often I have realized that the base is constantly detaching as the screws just won’t stay tight. It’s interesting reading the other comments on customer service because although the consultant is super sweet it has been several weeks and now she just called to say she should actually see the mop because she could just order replacement parts. I am over the 60 days, but within the warranty period. I am thinking I should insist on a new base as this issue actually happened once within the 60 days, but then I did not use it often as I am now so did not realize it was to be a recurrent theme! Just hope that once we get whatever I need ordered the replacement happens quickly! I get so irritated cleaning with the thing right now that the last time I just did all my kitchen on my hands and knees and figured the wood floors were at least vacuumed!

    • Hi CM – sorry to hear about the trouble you’re having with the Norwex Customer service. Do you have your consultant’s email address? Why not just email her a picture of the mop that she can email to the head office? The consultant has to pass everything by the head office Customer Service department first so if you had a digital pic it might speed things up. I don’t think it would be too much to ask for her to copy you on the email that she sends too just so you know when things are happening. Personally, any dealings I had with the Customer Service department back when I was a consultant were answered within 2 days so if it’s taking longer than that, the holdup is likely with your consultant. Don’t be shy – you paid a lot of money for that mop – get her moving!

  6. Diane says:

    Thank you for the review. I just wanted to let you know apple seeds contain trace amount of cyanide and are considered dangerous to dogs.

    • Diane – thanks for the tip. I’ve heard the rumours about the apple seeds and thankfully my dogs always seemed to leave them behind. They’ve been eating at least 1 apple a day for 12 years without any effects.

  7. Does the Norwex mop system work well on tiled/stone floors??
    Thank you!

    • Hi Diana – our mudroom/laundry/bathroom has tile in it and I’ve been very happy with the way both the Norwex and e-cloth mops work on it. I have noticed streaks at times but only because the mop was too damp. One other thing is that if the tiles aren’t perfectly level, you’ll see spots that the mop misses because it has quite a wide, firm base so if it straddles a low point, the low point will be missed. Of course you can just pivot the mop to get those spots. You’ll save a considerable amount of money if you go with the e-cloth mop instead. I’ve got a good comparison review on my blog.

  8. Krista says:

    I’m reading through many of your reviews before splurging and purchasing Norwex and just want to thank you for taking the time to put together such detailed and thought out reviews. As the owner of a black lab (who is my baby) it’s helpful to me that you include so much about dog hair! Just an FYI for you… apple seeds aren’t good for dogs, I think I’ve read somewhere that they’re actually poisonous to our four-legged friends.

    • Thanks Krista – let me know if you have any questions. There are a lot of products (e-cloth and Norwex) that I use but haven’t had time to review yet.

      I asked our vet about the apple seeds once because I’d read similar stories on the net and both our dogs would frequently eat 6 or more apples off the trees when we walked in the woods. It depended on how many they could scoff down before we caught them ;o) He said not to worry about it. They’ve both been eating an apple a day for 10 years (well, Riley died a couple of months ago, but that wasn’t apple-related). They do eat some seeds but they also seem to not like them and have perfected the skill of spitting them out onto my floor ;o(.

  9. Prefer not to give name on line says:

    You are so kind and committed! If I don’t get the exchange mop or refund soon, I will order the ecloth mop from you. Every Canadian I have ever known has just been a wonderfully honest, caring person and you just set the standard for all! Thanks so much. I enjoy your blog and really appreciate the amount of time and effort you have spent on my situation. I think you should be the human resources director or the company ‘s CEO!

  10. Prefer not to give name on line says:

    Thanks! The consultant did come to my house last Saturday, said the mop handle was defective, took it, the wet and dry mop parts, took my invoice and said she would email me when she returned it. I waited a week and emailed her today to ask if I would get a refund or new mop. She brought me hers to trade, but her base was bigger than the wet and dry mops that went with the defective handle, so I declined. There is no way it wouldn’t have scratched my floor, a fact she reluctantly agreed with. I think I will probably never see a refund nor the mop. I did make a copy of my invoice before I gave it to her…she had hers also. I don’t know why she needed all 3 copies…but I don’t understand how shipping and handling can be taxed either…oh well. I’ll just chalk it up to a bad scam and am so very glad I did not pay with a credit card. Thanks for your concern. I wish I had spent the well over 200 dollars with you as a consultant. Never again will I get suckered in to a deal like this. What a goofy deal this has been.

    • You may have seen from my recent posts that I’m no longer a Norwex Consultant (I’ve made the switch to e-cloth) HOWEVER, I still have the contact info and will see what I can do for you. I’m going to email you directly. If you have the nerve, you should post your consultant’s name here so others can be warned of her horrible service.

  11. Prefer not to give name on line says:

    Thanks. I did contact the consultant and she said this was her first complaint so she would have to check in to it. That was 5 days ago. No ord since that. I contacted her again and got no response. Somehow, I would think if there were so few complaints, it could be rectified quickly and easily. I am still within the 60 days, but am wondering if this is just a waiting game to get beyond the 60. Sorry to be so cynical, but all I can think of is how much of a hassle this whole Norwex cleaning system has been…and what a costly mistake I have made! At least if I had pruchased it from a store or on line, I would have some recourse. Thank you for any help you can provide.

    • Hopefully your consultant has contacted Head Office and is waiting for a response and that’s the reason for the delay. one can hope, right? BUT… do you have an email address for the consultant? Does she have a website? If yes to either of those, why not try emailing her (and keep a copy of the message) so you have a dated and written copy of your complaint. Do you have a receipt? It really bothers me when consultants sell the products and then aren’t there for customer support. Really, I think Norwex should have a system so that customers can deal with them directly for complaints/returns rather than having to go through non-responsive consultants. If you don’t have an email address for the consultant (or if she doesn’t have a website with a “contact me” option), send me another message and I’ll respond with some ways for you to take matters into your own hands.

    • Natasha Sandoval says:

      What a bummer for such an expensive product! I, too, bought the Norwex mop and after a year, the Velcro started coming off. Although the consultant I bought it from was really slow with the whole process, Norwex just mailed me a new base. I didn’t even have to send the back the old one. What ended up happening with this?

      • Hi – are you talking about CM’s comment below? I’m not sure what happened as I never heard back from her :(. I’m glad to hear you had a good experience with Norwex customer care though. Sometimes it’s best to go right to the source rather than through the consultants. Sad, but true.

  12. Prefer not to give name on line says:

    I bought the superior mop, used it twice and then the mop handle came off and we cannot get it reattached. Also, it collapsed and now will not extend. Did I just pay a lot of money a defective mop? Not a big Norwex fan right now. Cleaning was never this difficult with Swiffer. Suggestions?

    • Sorry to hear about the troubles you’re having with your Norwex mop falling apart. I’m sure you know that it comes with a 60-day money back guarantee. If you’re past that, I’d still contact the consultant that you bought it through as I’m sure something can be done for you. It sounds like you got a defective mop and Norwex is pretty good about returns and replacements. If your consultant isn’t any help, you can try back here and I’ll see what I can do – but Norwex will prefer that you deal with the consultant first.

  13. ariel says:

    How do you use it on the stairs? I have the large mop head and found it did not do a great job getting into the corners of the stairs.

    • I’ve got two tricks for using the Norwex mop on the stairs:
      1) I position the pad so that one edge/corner of it is flush with the edge/corner of the base. That will leave a lot of extra mop pad on the other side, but will allow you to get right into the corners of the stairs
      2) I take the pad right off the mop base and wipe the stairs with it. Sometimes I just don’t want to bother with the hassle of the entire mop (I’ll be honest, I find it a bit cumbersome on the stairs). This lets me get in between the spindles and I actually find it faster than with the entire mop.

      Thanks for your question. I hope this is of some help!
      Kate

  14. Well, it’s one year later and I’m still likin’ the Norwex mop. It’s great on the stairs and I can get it under our oven and fridge which is a real (but sometimes not pretty) bonus. The mop heads have lasted really well work just as well as they did the first time I used them.

    Poor, poor vacuum. It lies lonely and unused in the corner of a back room.

    We’ve been through 2 serious shedding seasons (labs shed all year round but seem to really let loose in the spring and fall) and I haven’t lost my mind. Thank you Norwex Mop.

    • Lori says:

      How does it work on Pergo/laminate? I’m having a tough time keeping mine looking streak and paw-print-free. Thanks!

      • Hi Lori – I just posted your question on my facebook page (but since it’s July 4th, we may not get a great response). I don’t have any laminate in my house BUT, the mop is really great on all our wood and cork flooring. I’ve got a big dog and two kids and the mop gets everything clean with very little effort. I wrote a blog post last week about why the mop may leave streaks and if you follow my suggestions there, I’m certain you’ll find it great on laminate flooring.

Comments

